HHU StartJUNOCareerYoung Research Group Leaders at HHU

Research fellows, Fellowship awardees, Junior research group leaders

Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf hosts several junior research group leaders who have successfully obtained independend thirdparty funding in highly competitive calls. Please find a description of their research work and accomplishments below.

European Research Council (ERC)

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Hoyer
ERC Consolidator Grant: BETACONTROL
Funded since 2017

Emmy Noether Programme - German Research Foundation (DFG)

Dr. Manuel Etzkorn
Time-optimized NMR spectroscopy for the investigation of challenging biological systems
Funded since 2013

Heisenberg-Programme - German Research Foundation (DFG)

Dr. Nils-Alexander Lakomek
NMR method development to investigate the structure and dynamics of membrane proteins and membrane-anchored intrinsically disordered proteins in a lipid environment and at physiological temperatures
Funded since 2020

PD Dr. Christian Tagsold
Japanese Diaspora in Europe, Preservation of Modern Monuments in Japan and the Idea of the Special Nature Loyalty of the Japanese in Culturalist Discourses
Funded since 2019

Funding line Digital Society of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Marc Ziegele
Deliberative Diskussionen im Social Web
Funded since 2018

Liebig Fellowship - Fonds der Chemischen Industrie

Jun. Prof. Dr. Ingrid Span
Structure and function of metalloproteins
Funded since 2015


Lichtenberg Professorship - VolkswagenStiftung

Jun. Prof. Dr. Esther Florin
Spontaneous brain activity in healthy subjects and Parkinson's disease
Funded since 2016

Junior Research Group - German cancer consortium for translational cancer research

Dr. Marc Remke
Pediatric Neuro-Oncogenomics
Funded since 2014


Former HHU Research group leaders

Prof. Dr. Heiko Beyer,   Heisenberg Fellow 2019

Prof. Dr. Julia Frunzke, ERC Starting Grant 2018

Prof. Dr. Karl Sebastian Lang, Sofja Kavalevskaja Award winner 2008

Prof. Dr. Philipp Alexander Lang, Sofja Kavalevskaja Award winner 2010

PD Dr. Veronica Maurino, Heisenberg Fellow 2011-2019

Prof. Dr. Cornelia Monzel, Freigeist Fellowship of Volkswagen Foundation, 2018

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Eva Nowack, Emmy-Noether-Programme of DFG, 2014 - 2019

Prof. Dr. Michael Schmiedeberg, Emmy-Noether-Programme of DFG, 2011 - 2015

Prof. Dr. Ute Scholl, NRW Returning Scientist Programme, 2013-2017

Prof. Dr. Daniel Schubert, Boehringer Ingelheim Nachwuchsgruppe, 2011 - 2015

Prof. Dr. Björn Stork, Heisenberg Programm der DFG, 2017

Dr. Marijn van Wingerden, Freigeist Fellow, 2014-2019

Prof. Dr. Eckardt Zimmermann, ERC Starting Grant, 2018


Junior Scientist and
International Researcher Center (JUNO)

Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf
Gebäude 16.11.
Ebene 00 Raum 48
Universitätsstr. 1
40225 Düsseldorf
Tel.: +49 211 81-13564
undefinedE-Mail senden

Responsible for the content: